Existing auto-assignment rules for courses and curricula can be edited as requirements change.
Navigation: UKG Pro Learning > Admin > Automated Rules
- Locate and select the automated rule you want to change.
- Select the wrench icon.
- Select Edit. You will be redirected to the Advanced Assignment page for the rule.
- Make the desired changes.
- Select Set Rule.
When the new rule is set, the old auto-assignment rule is erased, and, depending on the changes made, the users assigned through an older version of the rule may be affected.
- Users assigned through an older version of the rule, but who still match the criteria of the current rule, will continue to be considered as part of the rule. This respects the “Unassign when criteria are not met anymore” setting.
- If Unassign when criteria are not met anymore was selected in the previous version of the rule, users who no longer meet the criteria of the updated rule are automatically unassigned unless they still qualify for the same training through another automated assignment rule. If they qualify through another rule, they remain assigned.
Use the table below to help understand how changes may affect users.
| Example | Rule Name | Rule Criteria | Result |
| #1 | Rule v1 | - Unassign checked - Above Unit A | Learners in Above Unit A were assigned by Rule v1. They are not unassigned if they do not meet the criteria of Rule v2. |
| Rule v2 | - Unassign unchecked - Above Unit A | ||
| #2 | Rule v1 | - Unassign unchecked - Above Unit A | Learners in Above Unit A were assigned by Rule v1. They are unassigned if they do not meet the criteria of Rule v2. |
| Rule v2 | - Unassign checked - Above Unit A | ||
| #3 | Rule v1 | - Unassign checked - Above Unit A | Learners in Above Unit A were assigned via Rule v1. They are unassigned when the rule is updated to Rule v2. |
| Rule v2 | - Unassign unchecked - Above Unit B | ||
| #4 | Rule v1 | - Unassign unchecked - Above Unit A | Learners in Above Unit A were assigned by Rule v1. They are not unassigned under Rule v2, but they are not considered part of Rule v2. |
| Rule v2 | - Unassign checked - Above Unit B | ||
#5
| Rule v1 | - Unassign unchecked - Above Unit A, B, C |
Learners in Above Unit B were assigned by Rule v1. They are unassigned when the rule is changed to Rule v3 as they do not meet the criteria now.
|
| Rule v2 | - Unassign checked - Above Unit A, B | ||
| Rule v3 | - Unassign checked - Above Unit A | ||
| #6 | Rule v1 | - Unassign checked - Above Unit A |
Learners in Above Unit A were assigned by Rule v1. They are not unassigned when editing the rule to Rule v2 as the Unassign When Criteria Are Not Met Anymore" option is deselected. Learners continue to be considered as part of Rule v1. They are not unassigned even when editing Rule v2 to Rule v3.
|
| Rule v2 | - Unassign unchecked - Above Unit B | ||
| Rule v3 | - Unassign checked - Above Unit Β |
Delete an Automated Assignment Rule
You can delete an automated assignment rule with or without unassigning learners.
- Delete Rule: Deletes the automated assignment rule. Existing training assignments remain unchanged.
- Delete Rule and Unassign: Deletes the automated assignment rule and unassigns applicable learners.
Unassign Learners Who Completed Training
If you edit an existing automated assignment rule and enable Unassign learners who have completed the course or Unassign learners who have completed the curriculum, the updated rule can unassign completed learners who stop meeting the rule criteria after the rule is updated.
Learners who had already stopped meeting the rule criteria while they were in a completed status before the rule was updated remain assigned because they are not included in the updated rule's scope.